Harvest

Since for the time being I can’t find my address book file, I have some emails to send out but no addresses. So, if people I usually converse with (Jargon, Doug, Daniel, et al.) can drop me an email so send stuff out to you, I’d appreciate it.

Thanks

12 Responses to Harvest

  1. acolyte says:

    STK,

    Thats good, though he messes up on the energia later in the book. Image and Likeness, is also helpful though the ending is somewhat confused. Also helpful was I think Elizebeth Clark’s book on the earlier iconoclastic contrversy in the 4th century with debates about Origenism.

  2. If anyone is interested in reading something that highlights the dogmatic nature (as opposed to the Western devotional view) of the Seventh Ecumenical Council, I recommend reading Ambrosios Giakalis’ book “Images of the Divine: The Theology of Icons at the Seventh Ecumenical Council.”

  3. photios says:

    What thread are you guys looking at over there?

  4. acolyte says:

    Addendum,

    Michael he is also wrong about 2nd Nicea. It was directly connected with the Incarnation, and anyone reading the documents should know that. The fundamental question at Nicea 2 was, can matter be deified? Gee, YA THINK that might have something to do with God becoing FLESH? Popular mythos abound. This same kind of nonsense about 2nd Nicea I just thrashed over at Reformed Catholicism.

  5. acolyte says:

    Michael,

    Having looked over at what Fr. Kimel and others wrote, it simply confirms why I am not there. Diane is a fallacy producing machine. Cathedra has never even attempted to answer serious questions I raised to him. What is more, if he has never heard of the 8th or 9th councils as being denoted that way or deemed ecumenical, it must because he hasn’t read them because they speak of being inspired by the Spirit as well as having ecumenical warrant.

    As for the Essence/Energies, I think Fr. Kimel needs to read John of Damascus or read the materials from the Arian controversy more carefully. A good read of Contra Eunomius wouldn’t hurt either. It’s all over the place. Theyjust need to stop pushing the Father’s through Augustine’s Platonic seive. Fr. Kimel also used to choke on my insistence that Augustine was seriously wrong on predestination as with practically the entire western tradition. Three years later he finally read Farrell’s book and changed his mind. Go figure.

    So needless to say, I don’tput much stock in what they have to say about Orthodoxy.

  6. photios says:

    I didn’t have to reject any Roman distinctives when I was chrismated in GOARCH, but the priest at the time stated this was implied when I publically had to profess all that Orthodoxy teaches.

    Photios

  7. acolyte says:

    Michael,

    I was baptised Roman. When I was received I was requires to publically renounce the errors of Rome and affirm the teachings of the Orthodox Church. Those teachings include the teachings of Ireneaus, Athanasius, Cyril, Maximus and Palamas. This is why Palamas’ feast day is the Sunday of Orthodoxy.

    He and others originally told me that I didn’t know what I was talking about and that the teaching of Palamas either was a speculation or was nothing different from what the Latin’s taught. And this they told me because they “knew” about Orthodoxy and I obviously didn’t. Now they have changed their tune. I guess they weren’t informed about Orthodoxy as they thought and led others jto believe.

  8. Michael says:

    Dear Perry,

    This is off topic but I don’t know how to get hold of you and want you to notice my question in an active thread. Is it true that Orthodox Christians are required, on pain of anathema, to reject the Roman papal claims; and likewise required, on pain of anathema, to accept the distinction of Palamas between energies and essence? Fr. Alvin Kimel said this over at Cathedraunitatis, and I’m wondering if he is correct.

  9. David,

    Assuming Fr Pat hasn’t changed his mind on blessing the names, yes, these are the names I will take on my chrismation.

    No, I’m not chrismated yet. Don’t worry, buddy, I’ll let you know as soon as I know the date.

  10. David Richards says:

    Clifton, have you been chrismated and are now going by the name of your patrons? Or will you go by their names once you are chrismated?

  11. Glad I got my John Behr article before the end of the world as it was then known.

    ‘Course, if you want to send out more stuff my way, chealy5 at yahoo dot com will work.

