We are Legion

I am sure the title of the post will confirm some things people have thought about this blog and myself for some time. Of that I can do little or nothing to change. But I am very happy to know that our blog has now passed the 1,000 hits per day mark. Before the software switch over last year, I had no way to know who was linking to our site, who was visting or how many hits were were getting. Now I have a better idea.

Of course, I don’t know what other blogs get. Maybe 1,000 isn’t that much. I am sure sites like Pontifications probably get far more, but for our little blog, that seems like a good amount.

 Thank you all for your patronage. Now back to our regularly scheduled refutation of all heresies.

11 Responses to We are Legion

  1. It was an okay essay. I thought there were some real problems with it in some places. As I have time, I’d like to generate discussion, but I can’t at the moment. One quote that really jumped out at me was this from St. Leo clarifying his Tome after the Council: “…the actions were of one Person all the time…but we perceive from the character of the acts what belongs to either form.”

    Can we say patristic “ordo theologiae?” Not a hint of “Augustinism” in that statement.

    Photios

  2. Joseph says:

    Has anyone had a chance to plow through the paper that William referenced above?? I just finished it last night and would love to see a discussion of it.

    Joseph

  3. Michael says:

    I also beg the response of the learned to my question at the bottom of the “Directing the Course” thread on Filioque, particularly about the SCOBA agreed statement with the Catholic theologians.

  4. I want your take on this essay I found online. The thesis is extremely bold:

    “The purpose of this paper is to determine the logical meaning of the Chalcedonian Definition of the Faith and to show that the doctrine of the double procession of the Holy Spirit from the Father “and the Son” (Filioque) based upon the theory of psychological analogy is logically incompatible with it.”

    http://faculty.washington.edu/ewebb/ChTh&Fil.html

  5. Sophocles says:

    Dear Energies Guys,

    Uh, sorry to be a bugger, but a while back on “When Being Catholic Isn’t” I asked you guys a few questions(down towards the bottom). I’m interested especially i the question about monasticism.

    In fellopwship and in Christ,

  6. Don Bradley says:

    Recently I was mildly reproved, albeit indirectly, for engaging in discussions like those that occur here. Needless to say, I disagree with their analysis. It was seen as useless to “the salvation of our souls”.

    My immediate reaction was, “What of the salvation of our minds?!” Though I am a mere over-the-road trucker, my mind needs to know that what I’m recieving from the Orthodox Church is correct and I didn’t just get lucky in my choice of kool-aid.

    This is my favorite blog to visit. It’s cool to see Dr. Farrell post now and then. Want to hear a good one? I am 1200 miles from home, yet I have in my truck a copy of “Mystagogy” with an introduction by Dr. Farrell that I got in a used bookstore in Phoenix 8 years ago. What a hoot.

  7. Sophocles says:

    Dear Acolyte and Photios,

    Please continue what you are doing. Your voice is needed and this site has helped me many times to return to a center of our Holy Church. May the truth of Orthodoxy spread, may our gracious Lord open the eyes of all who have not come to see Her as His Bride. I really mean it my brothers in Christ.

    In fellowship and in Christ,
    Sophocles

  8. Matt says:

    Perry,

    Fair enough. Incidently, if you are choosing the additional contributors by popular referendum — and somehow I doubt that you are 🙂 — my votes would go to STK and Dr. Tighe respectively. I have read valuable insights from both of them.

  9. acolyte says:

    Matt,

    No and here is why. This is one of the only places I know that discusses what we do. That makes us unique. Once we become like everyone else, there’s no significance to us. Secondly, it is better to do a few things well than many things poorly. We are trying, casually, to do a few things well. At most we will be adding contributors.

    This doesn’t mean that we can’t take it to the streets. I firmly believe you can use much of this material in popular apologetics. The trick is coming back down into the cave by using examples, questions and metaphors that the audience can grasp, without sacrificing content.

  10. Matt says:

    P+P,

    Have you two considered expanding the scope of the blog a bit? Perhaps you could post some thoughts about how Christians — and not just not just Orthodox 😉 — should approach those of other religions (Islam, Jewdaism, Mormon, etc.) as well as conversations with atheists and agnostics. Also, I would be interested in more practical evangelism techniques — ie What do you discuss with people who aren’t interested in advanced theological conversations about ADS, Monoenergism, etc.

  11. William B says:

    WordPress is awesome!

