Citation

I am trying to track down a citation from St. Basil. I don’t know why I can’t find it but I can’t. If any of you know where it is, please let me know. The passage runs something like the following.

“Isn’t it silly to think that providence and foreknowledge are the same things?”

If you know where this is, please drop a comment and let me know.

10 Responses to Citation

  1. “Is it not ridiculous to say that the creative power is an essence, and similarly, that providence is an essence, and foreknowledge, simply taking every energy as essence?” Contra Eunomius, I.8, PG 29, 528B

  2. Levi says:

    If someone has the source to that quote now…could I have? Ha

  3. Levi says:

    *waits for the quote*

  4. Daniel Jones says:

    Huh uh. This isn’t the quote your looking for. It’s in the Adversus Eunomium. I’ll try to dig it up today or tomorrow.

    Photios

  5. AH says:

    sorry I didnt include it I believe wayfarer has provided it.

  6. Perry Robinson says:

    Arin,

    I think that might be it. Do you have the reference handy, please?

  7. AH says:

    “Is this not absurd to call the creative faculty of God, essence, providence also essence, likewise prescience; in a word to set down every energy as essence?”

    St. Basil. Is that what your looking for Perry?

  8. Perry Robinson says:

    I am fairly positive it was Basil. But if it wasn’t I’d be happen to know who it was.

  9. Levi says:

    I know I’ve read that quote before. But, I absolutely cannot remember where…are you positive it was Saint Basil?

