Book Deals

Here are some book deals on contemporary analytic literature on free will and determinism. While I do not agree with all of the authors, these works comprise a good dose of the literature being discussed.

 Randolph Clarke, Libertarian Accounts of Free Will

James Tomberlin, Philosophical Perspectives 14: Action and Freedom

Laura Waddell Ekstrom, Agency and Responsibility

Derek Pereboom, Living Without Free Will

Harry Frankfurt The Importance of What We Care About

Joseph Cambell ed., Freedom and Determinism

3 Responses to Book Deals

  1. AH says:

    I dont think that gift certificate is going to cover any of this!

  2. Michael,

    As I wrote above, I don’t agree with everything the authors write. Clarke is a libertarian himself. I listed his book because it is fairly recent and it is and has been much discussed. Whatever his judgments it is an important book.

  3. MG says:

    Perry–

    Which one of these do you think is the best contemporary representative of the compatiblist position, and which is the best for the libertarian position? I’ve only looked at the Tomberlin one, which was good.

    I read in a review of Clarke that he argues all current accounts of libertarian freedom seem to have overriding problems. Do you agree that all accounts are implausible, or no?

