Sound Familiar?

“But we, persuaded by holy and blessed men, affirm that the mystery of Godliness is neither in the dignity of names, nor in the specificity of practices and sacrametnal mysteries, but rather in the exactness of teachings.”

Eunomius, NPNF  v : 238

Compare with this.

7 Responses to Sound Familiar?

  1. Tim Enloe says:

    Fine by me. I read your posts a few months back about the lack of ability to prove ADS from “Scripture alone.” Very good points. Once I get better grounded in the Fathers perhaps I can start looking at Reformed dogmatics in more detail.

  2. Tim,

    The underlying metaphysics of being and consequently the divine being are very similar between Eunomianism and Augusitine’s Platonism. That was the point I wished to make. It makes its way up through the reformers pretty much without so much as a twitch and hence they swallow things like ADS and the filioque without any *serious* biblical justification.

  3. Tim Enloe says:

    Perry, well I did say perhaps I am misreading. Anyway, I am not attempting to give any notions that need to be disabused. I know my limitations on these topics and I am currently attempting to rectify some of my conceptual and historical inadequacies so I do not, as in years past, make so many ignorant and dumb and reactionary statements. I am presently taking a class on Christology, and am doing some significant extra-curricular reading for it. For instance, I just started into Cyril’s “On the Unity of Christ,” and hope to read Athanasius and some of the Cappadocians soon.

  4. […] and complaints I’ve been hearing from that corner of the stands are nothing short of Eunomian. (Lurker: now this “sounds […]

  5. Tim,

    No, I mean compare. I mean to draw the reader’s attention to what I take to be more than a superficial similarity. I don’t take them to be saying something significanly dissimilar but I a sure you do. I think a decent grasp of Eunomianism and Thomism would disabuse you of that notion.

  6. Tim Enloe says:

    I think you mean contrast, not compare. Unless I don’t know how to read or am missing something fairly obvious, the two statements are saying different things.

  7. Andrew says:

    This (and Bucer’s quote) brings to mind all the ink that has been spilled within the history of Lutheranism over the infamous ‘satis est’ of Article VII of the Augsburg Confession*. The confusion over this article explains why even within the relatively conservative Lutheran Church Missouri Synod you can go to one parish on a given Sunday and basically hear the Mass while another parish across town will be singing Matt Redman and Chris Tomlin tunes with a not-so-hip praise band. But both parishes supposedly hold to the ‘exactness of teachings’, so it’s okay. Please.

    Let me tell you guys: I am so glad I don’t have to deal with that anymore.

    *’And to the true unity of the Church it is enough to agree concerning the doctrine of the Gospel and the administration of the Sacraments. Nor is it necessary that human traditions, that is, rites or ceremonies, instituted by men, should be everywhere alike.’

