Wisdom From My Students

There are “emphirical sciences”

One of David Hume’s objections to the teleological argument is that “If God is an analogy, he could be evil and not good.”

“The problem of evil is that you don’t know when it can come out and everyone has the evil inside them. It is the whole fact if choosing to do good over evil. You have to put good in front of the evil.”

“Hume objects to induction because he does not believe that by definition we can induce.”

“Induction: everything in the past and present will happen in the future.”

 “The allegory of the cave represents the education of the soul on the body.”

Kant’s Categorical Imperative is “Act only to the maximum where by at the same time will that it would create a universal cause.”

“Hume objects to induction, it upsets him.”

The Ontological Argument is “that logic exits and you have to beware what form you want to which makes you good and that the state can’t tell you what to believe in, you get to decide.”

12 Responses to Wisdom From My Students

  1. Ryan says:

    Honestly I am glad to know that my answers did not make it onto this page. I wish to be one in your good graces Perry, however, I was undoubtedly one of your least favored students. I believe the posting of these responses can be quite motivational to those who wish to succeed, simply out of fear. People will work harder to avoid the exposure of their ignorance.

  2. backcorner says:

    To both Ezekiel and Perry-

    I happen to be one with the title “ex-2008-Intro student,” and one that also discovered this blog by means of Google. I do believe that some students would be angered, or more embarrassed, by the posting of his or her final exam answers, but I firstly do not believe they would act upon anything, and secondly would admit to the authorship of said quotations.

    Upon reading them, I personally smiled. If you take the time (6 hours worth) to meet with Perry while he talks over the entire semester and practically tells you each item of the test, you would not possibly make the mistakes which were posted. I do admit, however, that even after reading chapters of the textbook, even after listening and taking thorough notes in class, without taking the time to meet up with Per in Pius Library, the exam would be extremely difficult and those silly answers Perry posted would almost be inevitable.

    Maybe it is a little mean, but it sure isn’t malicious. Heck, it might make those students laugh at the fact that their answers made the “top 9 most rediculous Intro to Phil exam answers”.

    – Peace out, girl scout

  3. Ezekiel,

    No need to apologize. You weren’t rude. It is a legitimate concern. Perhaps it betrays a fault in me. Perhaps not. In any case, I meant the post in jest. I figure given what some students have written about me, a good ribbing is fair game.

  4. ezekiel says:

    No, I don’t doubt that the students are lazy and don’t read; I had to sit through undergrad philosophy courses and roll my eyes, and I can only imagine it’s much worse from the position of standing in front. (I vented by keeping a text file I still have with lines from my phil classes.) However, you might be surprised how many students do attempt to understand and simply fail utterly, even ones that are–in their field–quite bright. I tried tutoring a friend’s roommate for a simple survey course in modern philosophy; despite her every effort, it was a failed project from the start. (She’s doing well enough now, I believe.)

    I’m sorry, it’s just that having graduated a little more than a year ago, and remembering how ubiquitous the googling of professors and the exchange of information was in both departments I had majors in, I will (if I ever I teach) always assume that my students know about anything I place in the public view. Maybe your campus culture sees this as normal, and if so, that’s different and I get it. It wouldn’t have happened anywhere I was, which is why I was a bit surprised.

    I also feel bad that, having been reading for some time, my first comment is something that seems so trivial, as if I was merely waiting to nit-pick. Apologies.

  5. aleko says:

    Great blog, aco, but I agree with ezekiel re: this particular post. At best it is a cheap laugh that may come back to haunt you. At worst it is in bad taste.

  6. Krause says:

    Those poor lazy bastards had to get you as a prof.? Lord have mercy.

  7. Few students know about the blog. Most of the misakes are due to sloth. Only about 2-3 students are actually bright, let alone read their text on a regular basis. What students resent is having to take the class in the first place, being told that they are wrong, either factually or logically, or being asked to think at all. And I am not doing anything differnt than a number of other faculty who post such things things on their office doors or other venues.

  8. ezekiel says:

    As someone not too far removed from undergraduate education myself, I would assume that your students know about this blog and that someone will get it around that lines from students have been published in it.

    While these are hilarious, I imagine a student might not feel the same way–even a quite good one–they might fear a future mistake would be offered up to the internet. Even anonymously, that’s rather embarrassing, especially in a subject like philosophy, where many otherwise bright students feel well over their heads–and often resent it.

    If this comes off as over-reaction, please delete the comment.

  9. Brad says:

    Quit plagurizing my papers! lol

    It kinda reminds me of a phone call to a radio station I heard once. “Hey. Can you guys play that Dunder Jeep song by AC/DC?” “What?” “You know. Dirty Deeds and the Dunder Jeep.” I almost called in to request that CCR favorite, “Bathroom on the Right”.

  10. That last one is priceless.

  11. s-p says:

    ROTFL! I love these. Obfuscation of ignorance is a gift. Unfortunately none of these folks seem to have it. 🙂

  12. Krause says:

    A lot of these are just incoherent but I definately laughed at:

    “Hume objects to induction, it upsets him.”

    Are these intro to phil. students?

