Rocky Mountain High

Next week I will be in the Denver area in Colorado. Arin Hatfield, a recent graduate of Reformed Theological Seminary is being received into the Orthodox Church with his family the Sunday of March 1st at St. Spyridon’s GOC.  On Saturday, Feb 28th, at around 6pm I will be giving a short talk about my conversion to Orthodoxy and much of that will be laced with material that is usually discussed here-Maximus, Simplicity, Free Will, Problem of Evil, etc. If you are in the area and would like to come, please R.S.V.P. by emailing me at the email listed below for further details. There will be opportunities to break beer together and informal discussions afterwards.

Perry Robinson

 

acolyte4236 AT sbcglobal dot net

11 Responses to Rocky Mountain High

  1. I earnestly await the recorded talk.

  2. Jonathan Companik says:

    Hey Perry, why don’t you make it out to Houston sometime and speak at Annunciation GOC or something?

  3. Things are in the works to make an mp3 file. After I get back, we can post it so ya’ll can here my girly man voice. ha!

  4. James Grant says:

    I request it too. Perhaps it would let Calvinistic or Roman Catholic towers fall for other people 🙂

  5. Third request for a recording of the talk. I would love to see the material.

  6. Canadian says:

    Perry,
    Not to be demanding, but I second Christopher’s request. I know you have graciously shared some things, but it would be great to have a more definitive account of how your Calvinistic and Roman Catholic towers fell. Also, couldn’t you find some anti-gnostic geek to record the talk and make it available here? Crumbs do need to fall for some of us little dogs who are afar off.
    🙂

    Also, I really miss Arin’s blog. He told me a couple years ago that he was meandering toward Orthodoxy. Congratulations Arin!
    Darrin

  7. Carl says:

    I concur. I try to follow the debates on here, but I’m not really grounded enough in theology to keep score. Spelling out things in different ways could be useful.

  8. More seriously, I would very much like to see a ‘boiling down’ of your various streams of thought regarding Orthodoxy. Of course, this would of necessity counter various heterodox teachings, but a focus on your understanding of the Orthodox teaching on “Maximus, Simplicity, Free Will, Problem of Evil, etc.” would be greatly appreciated by those of us that only wish we knew something about philosophy. In fact, ‘stepped’ versions of the same might be very useful for target audiences at different levels (average, undergrad, MDiv, philosopher) or with particular preoccupations (Reformed, RC, neo-Platonist).

  9. Christopher,

    Sorry, my friend, but if you can’t make it to Mecca where the secret gnosis will be distributed to my elected followers, then it must be because you aren’t in fact elect! JK

    Seriously tho, not much will be new. In the space of an hour I can’t say everything. And it is an audience where people are at different levels. If I start talking about the metaphysics of the grounding objection to Molinism or how to cash out my objection to ADS in predicate logic, I’ll hear a bunch of snoring.

  10. If you write down anything you talk about, please publish it here for those of us required to stay at sea level.

